Pictus Catfish in their new home

5 Jan

After getting beat up at Wal-Mart (the fish, not me), I was worried about one of my Pictus Catfish. He was thin and not very active. Two of the Catfish were fine, dashing around and eating, stuffing themselves on shrimp.

I decided the best course of action was to make these Catfish think they were dropped back into an Amazon tributary. I had a 29 gallon tank all set-up with a single large male Silver Angelfish. I added a sand bottom, cranked the temperature up to about 80 degrees F, increased the aeration, and then added a few handfuls of tree leaves (mostly Oak) from my backyard. After a day or so, the leaves all sank to the bottom and the Pictus hid under them. The water took  on the color of a weak tea. I didn’t see the Pictus too often because of the leaves but within a week I saw all three out feeding and I couldn’t tell which one was the weak one.

I have since reduced the temperature to about 76F.

Keep your Pictus Catfish with fish that it cannot swallow.  No Neons!

2 Responses to “Pictus Catfish in their new home”

  1. Joe thebeau July 31, 2016 at 9:18 pm #

    I have 3 of the pictus catfish and they don’tseem to like the standard fish food. Is there a specific food for them or will they adjust to the food I am already giving them ?

    • fishtanx2011 August 1, 2016 at 7:47 am #

      Mine eventually preferred anything with worms. I have some ” worm pellets ” that sink. Live worms from your yard are great if you don’t use pesticides.Pick up some small worms after a rain.

Leave a Reply

