Pictus Catfish at Wal-Mart

3 Jan

I’ve been wanting a small group of Pictus Catfish for quite awhile. They look great with their long whiskers and black spots. My wife and I were in Walmart. I saw Pictus for sale, 6 dollars each. I had seen them for 8 to 10 dollars everywhere else and I figured I had better get them. After trying for 15 minutes to get someone to assist us, my wife nearly started catching and bagging them herself. But she eventually found a young lady to help. I hate to say it, I don’t think this girl knew that fish were living , breathing creatures. She slammed-banged her net all over the tank trying to catch them, and when they ended up tangled in the net, she shook it hard.

I couldn’t take it…I said, “We gotta go, I can’t watch this.”  Just then a young fellow joined in to help her. I made a comment that  once their spines get embedded in the net it’s best to snip the net. (I figured Wal-Mart could afford to lose a fish net or two).  After a little more shaking, they cut the net.

I suggested placing the plastic box that they use into the water, catching a fish in the net and shooing him into the box. That worked, but then the young man tried to catch all three without taking out the box. One would escape, then another, and on and on. He eventually had three, and the final one got stuck in the net. He took it out and pulled on the poor fish. The spine came out of the net and I said, “I’ll take him, they are tough, but you guys need to find a net that works.”  I mean, really, am I the first person ever to buy a Pictus Catfish at Walmart. HEY Wal-Mart, your employees are damaging the merchandise!!

I know that the ultimate answer to this problem is not to buy fish at a Wal-Mart or anywhere that mis-treats the fish. Eventually they won’t sell them if no one buys them.  Wal-mart is going to sell fish, though, so I think the best thing to do is to persuade them not to sell Pictus Catfish or Green Puffers.  I also wonder how many people buy Oscars at Wal-Mart and take them home to their 10 gallon tank.

Enough about that, my next post will talk about the Pictus Catfish in my aquarium!

2 Responses to “Pictus Catfish at Wal-Mart”

  1. James July 31, 2014 at 4:52 am #

    Wow I started reading this hoping to find a little info about their temperament (mine seems really aggressive).. But I just wanted to say that I had the same exact experience. Only I had just got one, and the employee (manager) did not put any air in the bag!!!! I had to untie it and do it myself once I got in the parking lot…

    • fishtanx2011 January 2, 2015 at 7:49 pm #

      Mine are mot aggressive but I know they would eat very small fish if they could. What do yours do that is aggressive?

Leave a Reply

