The Black Neon Tetra

12 Dec

Side view of my nephew's beautiful community aquarium.

I don’t have any of these fish…yet.  My nephew does and they look gorgeous in his tank.

Every picture I see of his tank the Black Neons are schooling and that’s the whole point of buying a schooling fish!

Their scientific name is Hyphessobrycon herbertaxelrodi, named after one of the giants in the aquarium hobby, Herbert Axelrod. The name alone is enough to make me buy some. Even though Dr. Axelrod has been in legal hot (boiling hot!) water I still look at him as the great name in Tropical Fishkeeping for my generation.

To continue my fascination with scientific names, it is worth pointing out that the Black Neon is not that closely related to the Neon Tetra that we all know. The Neon Tetra is Paracheirodon innesi  (named after another GREAT name in aquarium history, William Innes) and the genus of the Black Neon is Hyphessobrycon, which makes it more closely related to the Serpae Tetra, Hyphessobrycon eques and the Bleeding Heart Tetra, Hyphessobrycon erythrostigma , among many, many others.  I can’t help it, I think that is damn fascinating.

For additional notes about these fish please see the comments on this post.

2 Responses to “The Black Neon Tetra”

  1. DJ December 13, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    I have a interest in this aquarium as it is my sons tank. I have seen the tank go from large cichlids to large breeding piranhas… but this is the best his tank has ever looked.
    Watching him pick fish HE specifically enjoys has been a lot of fun.
    I have never had black neons…. never ever even THOUGHT of them, but since seeing them in his tank I would now buy them in a minute. They eat everything he puts in front of them an they are very full bodied for a neon. The colors are fantastic.
    I am sure they will be breeding at some point but the eggs will simply be fish food for all the other fish in his tank.
    It is a great joy to see something that my brother (the owner of this blog) and I have enjoyed for the last 35 or more years be enjoyed by one of my sons. It is even greater enjoyment that he is teaching me about C02 and to enjoy fish that that I have never owned or tried over all my years of fish keeping.
    The student has become the teacher…. and time goes by.

Leave a Reply

