An indoor turtle pond

6 Dec

Here’s a photo of my four aquatic turtles in their winter quarters, a 100 gallon horse trough.

My 3 Red-eared Sliders and one Western Painted Turtle

These turtles live outdoors in my backyard pond in the summertime. The biggest issue with water turtles is that they become big messy poop machines. This year I acquired a Fluval 204 canister filter. Wow, what a dream, no noise, no mess. I clean it less than once per week. It makes having these turtle so much easier.

If you have big fish in big tanks one of these Fluvals is the way to go.

I’ll post some photos of my outdoor turtle pond sometime soon. It might help to ease the winter blahs.

2 Responses to “An indoor turtle pond”

  1. Tammy March 25, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    What is the setup for their basking area? Do you have fighting/ aggressive problems? I have to separate my male and female. I love this setup!

    • fishtanx2011 March 26, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

      Their basking area is a flat rock that sits on an upside-down bucket. The tank is 100 gallons, if full, so there must be about 80 gallons of water. The male chases the big female all of the time but I haven’t seen any fighting ever.

Leave a Reply

