A Practical Fishkeeping Blog

26 Nov

My 29 gallon tank with Angels, Neons, Glowlights and others.

Hello everyone.  I’d like to tell you about the fish species and the fish tanks I have.  MY experiences with them.
My plan is to post a new article every week or two. I’ll pick a fish and try to give you some interesting and helpful information about that fish.  Maybe a page, maybe a paragraph, we’ll see. The fish I choose are fish that I have experience keeping.
Also, I’ll talk about aquatic plants and other topics.

I have one salt-water tank that I set up four years ago, and I have, let’s see, TEN freshwater tanks, some are just 10 gallons but it keeps me busy. So the topics will lean toward freshwater fishkeeping.

And if you like reptiles and amphibians, there will surely be some posts about my turtles and tortoises, salamanders, frogs, and one snake. BUT, I will mainly talk about fish. I named this A Practical Fishkeeping Blog so I had better try to stick to it.

 

22 Responses to “A Practical Fishkeeping Blog”

  1. Tropicals n more April 18, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    I love to see people talking about this hobby. It is a very rewarding experience. Keep up the great topics.

  2. Silver Dollar Fish September 27, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Great looking setup! Silver Dollar Fish.

  3. george December 10, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    I love your tank. It is nicely planted out. You have some of my favourite fish in there – Angel fish, bettas and neons. http://thefishdoctor.co.uk/favourite-fish/

    • fishtanx2011 December 13, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

      Thank you! That tank looked so great when I had 2 light bulbs over it and the Vallineria made it look like a jungle. I need to start growing that again. Then, the Angels got big and it was time to move the Betta. Eventually the Angels started breeding, so I had to move the other Angels out, too! Things aren’t constant for very long in the aquarium.

  4. Heather Spitz January 27, 2014 at 4:26 am #

    I’m looking forward to read your post about your fish and  fish tank aquarium. Keep us posted!

  5. Betta Fish Tank January 29, 2014 at 11:44 pm #

    betta fish tank
    I’ve always enjoyed reading your blog and this particular post like A Practical Fishkeeping Blog was especially good. Thanks for sharing it.keep it up
    http://www.therefinedfin.com

  6. betta fish bowl January 30, 2014 at 12:40 am #

    The links and resources posted by you in the blog are very useful for me! I was looking for this exact and particular information regarding fish tank. Thanks.

  7. Calvin February 1, 2014 at 4:23 pm #

    I just took down our 29 gallon fish tank and my daughter says she is now interested in salt water. http://scalelily.weebly.com

  8. Rich March 7, 2014 at 9:00 pm #

    Hi! Thank you for liking my blog (even though it’s not in English). Like you, I’m trying to offer practical tips, but I’m trying to cater to my countrymen. Please keep this up, and know that you are doing a good job at it!

  9. Einar Johnson April 11, 2014 at 7:23 am #

    Very impressive blog! I loved having fish growing up and would have one again if work didn’t require so much travel. I wanted to share a short film called “Tanked” that I shot at the beautiful aquarium in Genoa, Italy All macro work.
    https://vimeo.com/91453978
    Enjoy and thanks for the great site and lots of information!

  10. Vaibhav May 2, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    hey guys.. I am new to aquarium club and need your assistance for my newly started home made aquarium.
    just a little bit technical info and background-

    size – 76.2 cm x 45.72 cm
    height – 18 cm
    water volume – around 100 ltr.
    filter – WP3000F
    base – 6 cm of river sand layer + abt 2 cm of sea sand (cleaned)

    background – 1) After pasting the glasses with m-seal Silicone Sealant kept it for 6 days to soak up.
    2) After 6 days started filling up the water to test the pressure. ( 1 bucket every after 5-6 hrs.)
    3) Tested the fully filled tank for 6 days and there was no leakage.
    4) Emptied the tank and washed with cloth’s washing powder )used (normal water and cotton piece).

    5) Added layer of washed and cleaned river sand and then a layer of sea sand. filled the tank with water.

    6) After 4 days changed the 30% of water and put a pair of Black widow tetra & a pair of guroumi. (please suggest next ones)

    7) its been 2 days now and they have get along well till now.

    Am I good to go for plantation? Please provide tips for plantation. Please suggest plants and fishes to start with.
    also, my aquariums glasses are not looking very clean form inside. Some sticky layers.
    I don’t know what it is but looks like sand marks. I tried to clean them with magnetic duster but no luck (I can feel little roughness while moving duster).
    Please help!! thanks..

    • fishtanx2011 June 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

      I hope everything is going well with your new fish tank. I wonder if the coating on the glass is just the fine, dusty grains of sand or something else. That something else MAY be Diatoms. Google “Diatoms New Aquarium”, and see if that’s it.
      As far as adding plants, I’ve always had plants do much better after the tank is set up a few months. That way the fish have “fertilized” the water and gravel with their waste. So don’t add too many plants too soon. I bet you’ve added more fish by now, how are they doing?

  11. Cool Aquarium June 19, 2014 at 2:14 am #

    I love your blog! I am really impressed and looking forward for further posts here. I own some fish tanks too with variety of species. Thank you very much for the useful information!

    • fishtanx2011 June 29, 2014 at 3:42 am #

      Thank you!

    • fishtanx2011 January 2, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      Thank you for the kind comments. I intend to add more fish-related posts very soon, although sometimes i think this has become a turtle blog!

  12. Jeffrey Wells February 25, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

    Some great info on this blog, thanks for sharing your knowledge with us 🙂

  13. John David March 25, 2015 at 1:41 am #

    I just loved the photo of your aquarium and the information you have provided. I am waiting for your other blogs to read. Thanks for sharing this information.

    http://www.aquatechaquariumservice.com/custom-aquarium-designs.htm

  14. fiona74 April 28, 2015 at 4:06 am #

    I betcha this is the best blog i have come across. You rock

  15. Nick Rodriguez August 11, 2017 at 10:42 pm #

    Loving those angelfish! I had a few in my tank a couple years back but I could never get them to play nice with my tetras. I know they’re generally not aggressive but these three were a hassle.
    Keep up the good work and keep posting!
    http://www.cichlidcentral.net/

Leave a Reply

