Pictus Catfish are jumpers

4 Dec

Be careful with the Pictus Catfish, they are very active fish and can jump out of the tank.
A few months ago I came home and was looking at a tank that has a group of young Jack Dempseys. Suddenly I saw one of my Pictus Catfish swimming in that tank! He had leaped out of his tank through a small gap, cleared a few inches of space and went into the neighboring tank. A lucky fish.

Eventually I found a dried-up Pictus Catfish on the floor. So now I only have two.

DSCF5397

Transferring Mr. Pictus back to his original tank. By the way, when catching Pictus Catfish try not to use a net. You can “herd” them with a net, then try to catch them in a big plastic cup or suitable container. The spines get caught in nets. Bad for the fish and maybe bad for you!

CAM01480

CAM01543

I face their wood hideout to the front of the aquarium so I can watch them.

I brought in some water lilies and also dropped in a handful of washed, dead Oak tree leaves. I think the Pictus appreciate the natural hiding places.

I brought in some water lilies and also dropped in a handful of washed, dead Oak tree leaves. I think the Pictus appreciate the natural hiding places.

The Oak leaves look good in the Tiger Salamander tank. They help keep the tank moist and make it so I never ever get to see the salamanders.

Oak leaves also look good in the Tiger Salamander tank. They help keep the tank moist and make it so I never ever get to see the salamanders.

4 Responses to “Pictus Catfish are jumpers”

  1. becomingcliche December 5, 2013 at 11:03 am #

    I used to have pictus cats. They’re pretty fun. I never had any jumpers, thank goodness.

    • fishtanx2011 December 5, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      Just think if you could get a bunch of them and get them to spawn and become rich and famous.

  2. michael June 29, 2014 at 12:09 am #

    My kid used to have pictus catfiish in our aquarium but he overfed it so it died.

    • fishtanx2011 June 29, 2014 at 3:41 am #

      Mine are skinny. I have to make sure some pellets get to the bottom for them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

